Guide to Visibility Presets


Features in this article require Block Visibility Pro

What is a Visibility Preset?

A Visibility Preset is a collection of visibility conditions that can be applied to any number of WordPress blocks in the Block Editor. This allows you to independently configure and manage the visibility of multiple blocks at once.

For a brief overview of how Visibility Presets work and how you can use them on your website, check out the video below.

Introducing Visibility Presets in Block Visibility Pro

Getting Started with Presets

Access the Visibility Preset Manager

First, you need to create your first visibility preset via the Visibility Preset Manager. As of version 1.3.0 of Block Visibility Pro, the manager can be accessed in two ways.

Individual Blocks

Select any block and navigate to the Visibility panel in the Settings Sidebar. You will see the Visibility Presets section. Click the “Manage presets” button to launch the manager. If you have not created a preset yet, you will be presented with a button to “Add new preset”.

Accessing the Preset Manager from a block.
Accessing the Preset Manager from a block (Pro v1.3.0)

Block Editor Options Menu

Alternatively, you can access the Visibility Preset Manager directly from the options dropdown menu in the Block Editor.

Accessing the Preset Manager from the Options menu.
Accessing the Preset Manager from the Options menu (Pro v1.3.0)

Please note that presets can only be created and edited by Administrators or Editors. Authors will be able to apply existing preset to blocks, but they will not be able to make any changes to the presets themselves.

Create a New Preset

When the Visibility Preset Manager opens, you will be prompted to create a new preset or edit an existing one. All available presets are accessible from the sidebar navigation, which is fully searchable. You can also create a new preset at anytime by clicking the plus (+) icon in the sidebar.

Create a new preset in the Preset Manager
Create a new preset in the Preset Manager (Pro v1.3.0)

Configuring a Preset

Visibility Presets operate similarly to the visibility controls on individual blocks. Simply configure the controls that you would like to apply to the preset. When finished, publish the preset and it will become available site-wide.

Configuring a new preset in the Preset Manager
Configuring a new preset in the Preset Manager (Pro v1.3.0)

Add a Preset to a Block

Now that you have created a preset, the next step is to add it to an individual block. In the Block Editor, choose the block that should have the preset applied. Navigate to the Visibility panel and select your new preset from the dropdown. Presets can be added to any number of blocks and a block can have any number of presets.

Add a preset to a block.
Add a preset to a block (Pro v1.3.0)

Note that if a block has multiple presets, all presets need to apply for the block to be visible. Furthermore, if a block has individual visibility settings in addition to presets, those will also apply when determining if the block should be shown or hidden.

Add Additional Control Sets

When a preset is first created, it includes a single control set. A control set is a group of visibility controls that form “AND” conditions. For example, if a set includes the Date & Time control and the User Role control, both controls must be satisfied for the block to be visible.

There may be instances where you need “OR” conditions. Visibility presets make this easy. Simply add an additional control set by clicking the plus (+) icon in the navigation bar.

Adding an additional control set in the Preset Manager
Adding an additional control set in the Preset Manager (Pro v1.3.0)

Blocks with this preset will be visible if either control set is satisfied. For more information on how controls and control sets work in Block Visibility, visit their dedicated Knowledge Base article.

How to Disable

Each preset includes the option to enable or disable. When a preset is disabled, any block currently hidden by the preset will become visible again. This functionality can be useful when you are still configuring a preset and are not quite ready to make it active. Disabled presets will have a little red dot to indicate they are disabled.

Disabling a visibility preset in the Preset Manager
Disabling a visibility preset in the Preset Manager (Pro v1.3.0)

The Visibility Preset functionality can also be disabled entirely in the plugin’s Visibility Control Settings. Again, any block that is actively being hidden by a preset will become visible again if presets are disabled globally.

Roadmap

The first iteration of Visibility Presets was introduced in version 1.3.0 of Block Visibility Pro. The following enhancements are being explored or are in active development. If there is a feature that you would like to see, send us a feature request!

  • Preset categories
  • Configurable preset user permissions (control who can create/edit presets)
  • Import/export presets
  • Preset analytics
  • And more…

Upgrade to Pro today!

Unlock block location controls, eCommerce integrations, advanced block scheduling, and more!